



Voluntary Report - Voluntary - Public Distribution

Date: June 12,2020

Report Number: RS2020-0030

Report Name: Soybeans Excluded from Temporary EAEU Export Ban

Country: Russian Federation

Post: Moscow

Report Category: Trade Policy Monitoring, Oilseeds and Products, FAIRS Subject Report

Prepared By:

Approved By: Deanna Ayala

Report Highlights:

On June 2, 2020, the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC), which is the regulatory body of the Armenia-Belarus-Kazakhstan-Kyrgyzstan-Russia Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), issued EEC Collegium Decision No. 71, amending its temporary ban on exports of some food products from the EAEU to exclude soybeans from the ban. The amendment comes into effect on June 13, 2020, and allows exports of soybeans from the EAEU as of June 1, 2020. This report contains an unofficial English translation of the measure.

THIS REPORT CONTAINS ASSESSMENTS OF COMMODITY AND TRADE ISSUES MADE BY USDA STAFF AND NOT NECESSARILY STATEMENTS OF OFFICIAL U.S. GOVERNMENT POLICY

General Information

On June 2, 2020, the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC), which is the regulatory body of the Armenia-Belarus-Kazakhstan-Kyrgyzstan-Russia <u>Eurasian Economic Union</u> (EAEU), issued EEC Collegium Decision No. 71 (<u>in Russian</u>) amending its temporary ban on exports of some food products from the EAEU to exclude soybeans from the ban. The amendment comes into effect on June 13, 2020, and allows exports of soybeans from the EAEU as of June 1, 2020.

Press reports indicated that one of the largest Russian agricultural holdings, Rusagro, producing soybeans for export in the Russian Far East, was unhappy with the EAEU export ban, which locked an estimated 100 thousand tons of soybeans in the remote Russian region with a lack of soy processing capacity and limited access to the EAEU markets.

This is a second amendment of the temporary EAEU export ban relating to soybeans, following exclusion of 20,000 tons of Kazakhstani soybeans from the ban in April. For details please see GAIN report <u>RS2020-0028 Eurasian Economic Union Ag Times No 1 of 2020</u>.

The temporary EAEU export ban, introduced as part of the EAEU coronavirus pandemic response by the EEC Collegium Decision No. 43 of March 31, 2020, will last through June 30, 2020. For details please see GAIN report <u>RS2020-0013 Temporary EAEU Export Ban on Some Food Items</u>.

An unofficial English translation of the EEC Collegium Decision No. 71 of June 2, 2020 can be found below. The current version of the EAEU export ban is available here <u>translated into English</u> via automated translation.

BEGIN UNOFFICIAL TRANSLATION:

EURASIAN ECONOMIC COMMISSION COLLEGIUM

DECISION

June 2, 2020

No. 71

Moscow

On Amending Section 1.11 of the List of Goods that are Banned for Import into and (or) Export from the Customs Territory of the Eurasian Economic Union

In accordance with Article 46 of the Treaty on the Eurasian Economic Union of May 29, 2014, and paragraph 4 of the Protocol on the Non-Tariff Regulation for to Third Countries (Annex No. 7 to the Treaty on the Eurasian Economic Union of May 29, 2014), as well as paragraph 6 of the Order of the Eurasian Economic Commission Council No. 11 of March 25, 2020 "On Implementation of Measures Aimed at Preventing the Spread of the Coronavirus Infection COVID-19", in connection with an extraordinary occasion, calling for immediate action, the Collegium of the Eurasian Economic Commission **has resolved:**

1. To amend Section 1.11 of the list of goods that are banned for import into and (or) export from the customs territory of the Eurasian Economic Union (Annex No. 1 to Decision of the Collegium of the Eurasian Economic Commission No. 30 of April 21, 2015), as follows:

a) footnote with the following sign "**" shall read as follows:

"** Except for soybeans, whether or not broken, exported from the customs territory of the Eurasian Economic Union provided that confirmation of the respective authorized body of a Eurasian Economic Union Member State (hereinafter – Member States) is available."

b) in item 2 of the Notes to the Section:

in paragraph two the words "Eurasian Economic Union Member States (hereinafter – Member States)" shall be replaced with the words "Member States";

in paragraph five the words "Eurasian Economic Union Member States (hereinafter – Member States)" shall be replaced with the words "Member States";

2. The present Decision shall come into effect after 10 calendar days from its official publication and apply to operations as of June 1, 2020.

Chairman of the Collegium of the Eurasian Economic Commission

M. Myasnikovich

END UNOFFICIAL TRANSLATION.

Attachments:

No Attachments.