



Voluntary Report - Voluntary - Public Distribution

**Date:** October 11, 2022

**Report Number:** MY2022-0013

# Report Name: Malaysia Ratification of CPTPP

**Country:** Malaysia

**Post:** Kuala Lumpur

**Report Category:** Country/Regional FTA's, Trade Policy Incident Report, Trade Policy Monitoring, WTO Notifications

Prepared By: Abdul Ghani Wahab

Approved By: Timothy Harrison

## **Report Highlights:**

Malaysia ratified the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for the Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) on Friday, September 30, 2022, becoming the ninth out of eleven countries to ratify the agreement.

THIS REPORT CONTAINS ASSESSMENTS OF COMMODITY AND TRADE ISSUES MADE BY USDA STAFF AND NOT NECESSARILY STATEMENTS OF OFFICIAL U.S. GOVERNMENT POLICY

## **Summary and Background:**

On Wednesday, October 5, 2022, the Malaysian government officially submitted notification to New Zealand, the CPTPP depository, and became the ninth country to ratify the CPTPP. Only Brunei and Chile have yet to ratify the deal.

Malaysia's Ministry of International Trade and Investment (MITI) expects the new agreement will increase total trade to US\$656 billion by 2030 from US\$481 billion in 2021.

The CPTPP will expand Malaysia's market access for agricultural goods with Canada, Mexico, and Peru, with whom Malaysia does not have existing agreements. Details on the CPTPP text and Malaysia's side letters can be found on the MITI <u>website</u>. The United States does not have a free trade agreement with Malaysia.

Currently Malaysia belongs to eight regional free trade agreements exclusive of CPTPP:

- 1. <u>ASEAN- Free Trade Area (AFTA)</u>
- 2. ASEAN- Australia, New Zealand (AANZFTA)
- 3. ASEAN- China (ACFTA)
- 4. <u>ASEAN- India Free Trade Area (AIFTA)</u>
- 5. ASEAN- Japan Comprehensive Economic Partnership (AJCEP)
- 6. ASEAN- Korea Free Trade Agreement (AKFTA)
- 7. ASEAN- Hong Kong, China
- 8. Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP)

Under negotiation is the ASEAN-European Union Free Trade Agreement.

Malaysia has seven bilateral trade agreements in place.

- 1. Malaysia-Australia Free Trade Agreement (MAFTA)
- 2. <u>Malaysia-Chile Free Trade Agreement (MCFTA)</u>
- 3. Malaysia-India Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (MICECA)
- 4. Malaysia-Japan Economic Partnership Agreement (MJEPA)
- 5. Malaysia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement (MNZFTA)
- 6. Malaysia-Pakistan Closer Economic Partnership Agreement (MPCEPA)
- 7. <u>Malaysia-Turkey Free Trade Agreement (MTFTA)</u>

Under negations are the <u>Malaysia-EU Free Trade Agreement (MEUFTA)</u> and the <u>Malaysia-European Free Trade</u> <u>Association Partnership</u>.

Please contact FAS/Malaysia at <u>AgKualaLumpur@state.gov</u> with questions.

#### End of Report.

#### **Attachments:**

No Attachments.